Skip to content
Florian Hoefner (pianist, composer)

Moose Blues

  • C.E.A. -
  • Ologolo -
  • Jeanne -
  • Smolyan -
  • Abschiedslied -
  • Morningside -
  • Ilusa -
  • Calvi -
  • Old Soul -
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

also feat. Florian Hoefner, Magnus Schriefl, Malte Dürschnabel, Matthias Pichler, Peter Gall

released: 2018

Label: Laika Records

Catalogue no.: ACD8309

About the album

Moose Blues

Subtone stands in the forefront of today’s young innovative Jazz ensembles. Founded in 2005 in Berlin, its members now live on both sides of the Atlantic, in St. John’s, NL, Berlin and Cologne. Through innumerable concerts at home and abroad, as well as appearances at festivals like the Bohemia Jazz Fest in the Czech Republic and Jazz Baltica in Salzau, Germany, Subtone quickly established themselves as one of the most sought-after jazz ensembles in Europe. After three acclaimed albums, in early 2014 Subtone released their 4th album “Roswitha’s Revenge” on Laika Records. Subtone is the winner of the Jury and Audience Award of the International Jazz Competition “Tremplin Jazz d’Avignon” in France.

The individual members are all accomplished performers. Collectively, they have won prestigious awards like the US National Trumpet Competition (Magnus Schriefl), the Bass Competition of the International Bass Convention (Matthias Pichler) and the Sting Ray Rising Star Award (Florian Hoefner) and have collaborated with artists and groups like the Kurt Rosenwinkel Trio, Seamus Blake, Joe Lovano, Dave Liebman, Randy Brecker and the European Jazz Orchestra.

With their own imaginative compositions, the five artists offer an inexhaustible selection, from the voluminous big-band sound to a bare-essential chamber music approach. In addition to the mastery over their instruments, it is above all the implicitness with which they communicate that is so striking.

What makes Subtone stand out from other ensembles is the impressive artistic connection among the five musicians. The listener perceives this intense communication and fundamental understanding among all members of the band in the very first notes.

MAGNUS SCHRIEFL – trumpet, flugelhorn
PETER GALL – drums

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *