Skip to content
Florian Hoefner (pianist, composer)

New Album “Desert Bloom” drops June 3rd on Alma Records

On June 3rd Florian’s new album, “Desert Bloom” with Andrew Downing on bass and Nick Fraser will be released on Alma Records. On the album you will hear 7 new original compositions and 2 arrangements of a piece by the Punch Brothers and a piece from the album “Planetarium” by Sufjan Stevens, Nico Muhly, Bryce Dessner and James McAlister. We cannot wait to share the new music with you.

Florian on the title: “Some time ago, I watched a documentary on water and was blown away by the footage of a desert bloom in Chile’s Atacama Desert – the driest place on earth. In some parts of the desert, rain doesn’t fall for up to 10 years. But then, when the rain does come, the colours explode. After staying dormant in the ground for years, protected underneath the hot and dry desert floor, the seeds of wildflowers suddenly germinate after heavy rainfall, turning the desert into a flower garden within days. Ready all this time, they have been patiently waiting until the conditions were right to come out. This is what it has felt like to be a musician over the last two years. Waiting and waiting for the bloom.”

Florian Hoefner Trio 'Desert Bloom'

Categorized: News

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *